

The Off Soundings Club is a yacht racing organization founded in 1933, with a membership of approximately 500 experienced racing sailors. Most of the membership is based in Connecticut, Rhode Island, Long Island, Massachusetts, New York State, and elsewhere in New England. The club does not operate a shore facility, but concentrates on managing two high-quality weekend race series per year, spring and fall, for its members and their invited guests. Spring racing, held in mid-June, usually occurs in Block Island Sound, out to and around Block Island. Fall racing, held in mid-September, occurs in eastern Long Island Sound and Gardiners Bay/Shelter Island.

"If you don't know how to lose, the penalties for past winners will teach you humility and the social graces of getting beaten. It's a wholesome and fun weekend for everybody racing. You go out and race harder next time. Whether it's fog or rain or calm or gale, it's smiling faces in slicker suits, or shorts or sweater; it's old friends and new; it's something very special; it's Off Soundings and it's got an awful lot of very good sailors and good sportsmen."

In the Spring Series Dolphins have won their class 19 times out of the 51 years since Ron Noe's Dolphin, En *Charette*, first won it in 1964. They had fleets in their class up to 52 boats, with as many as 8 Dolphins racing in the peak years 60's/70's.

1964 (52 entries) First, En Charette, Ron Noe 1965 (39 entries) First, Tiki, Joe Waldon 1968 (48 entries) First, Savili (En Charette) Carleton Granbery 1971 (40 entries) First, Savili (En Charette) Carleton Granbery 1974 (23 entries) First, Savili (En Charette) Carleton Granbery 1972 (30 entries) First, Tigress, Andy Anderson 1980 (15 entries) First, Marionette, Tom Marstrand 1981 (21 entries) First, Odile, George Watt 1983 (19 entries) First, Just Friends, Ed Purcell 1984 (22 entries) First, Tiki, Joe Waldon 1988 (11 entries) First, Just Friends, Ed Purcell 1994 (15 entries) First, *Tigress*, Andy Anderson 1996 (11 entries) First, Savili, (En Charette) Ed Dickerdorf 2004 (10 entries) First, Marionette, Ron Breault 2008 (12 entries) First, Marionette, Ron Breault 2012 (6 entries) First, Marionette, Ron Breault 2015 (6 entries) First, Marionette, Ron Breault